RSS

Heroes

22 Feb

I don’t know why my parents are alive? They were both ruled dead by a coroner, their funeral director didn’t want them to die. But, I did see someone that reminded me of my mother in her casket. As a 2 year old, I watched my dad’s military funeral come right down the street toward me. 

There are true life heroes like myself! Of course, many folks don’t know who we really are. We are blood donors, tax payers, volunteers(with & without pay), organ donors, sacrificial lambs, believers in the Afterlife, non-criminals, and really human and funny folks at times. 

It’s ok to honor real folks like me. I like recognition as much as anyone else does. I believe in saying thank you to my face, for a job well done. Not enough folks say thank you, but one 1st grade teacher said thank you, when I was in AmeriCorps. Only one person said thank you out of all the folks I worked with! 

That’s what’s the problem these days, there isn’t enough gratitude in the workplace, in families, amongst strangers, and in loved ones. What is kindness and why don’t enough people practice it? I guess, gratitude, thank you, and kindness aren’t words in the dictionary anymore? 

Modern day chivalry is too passe. It just doesn’t matter, I guess to some? But, I believe it still does have a foundation in American culture. It’s always right to be polite, kind, volunteer, donate blood, tissues & organs, and be an all round good person and mentor! 

It doesn’t matter what your height is, what your weight is, what your sexuality is, what your skin color is, what your religion is, and what your passion is! But, it does have to do with your being. Why do we exist in the first place? 

In my opinion, we’re all human with faults. Everyone makes mistakes and can always improve in life. I’m a prime example of someone who always needs to be better than I am. It’s more than my appearance, who I am as a person. I always scrutinize myself and think, I shouldn’t said or did that kind of behavior. I’m my biggest critic, but realize when I do good deeds for others and myself. 

I know, I have to take care of myself first, but I believe so strongly in others, especially in the folks I love! I can’t emphasize it enough, I’ve been hurt before and don’t want to lose my loved ones again. I don’t want to die of a broken heart, but would rather die from Multiple Sclerosis. 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 22, 2017 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
