RSS

Belittling Remarks

04 May

I just got back here from work and I received a belittling remark from someone in this household. Why do people feel the need to put someone down so much, that they feel a criticized child. I’m the adult child. 

When that happens to me, I feel very angry inside. I feel worthless and the other person has control over me. This is another reason I got a divorce and that I moved to Maine. I have to self control myself and calm my humiliation. I’m so thankful that I don’t strike back. But the hurt lingers for awhile. 

That is a behavior that I will not engage in. It’s cruel and a form of punishing the other person for some reason. The reason I was given, is unacceptable to me. It’s like bullying someone and making them a scapegoat for their problems. It’s the wrong way to treat anyone. I was belittled in class today, by a teenager. I was taking her abuse, until I said, that’s enough to myself. I told her as she walked out with a CST, I don’t have to take that from her. Later, I wrote the referral. I noticed the looks of the other students, when she was belittling me. They made me think about my self worth as a person. 

I believe in the power of words, on paper, spoken, or texted, even in a blog! Unfortunately, there are folks that feel the need to hurt and belittle others. I hate that game, because it uses verbal and emotional abuse. Of which, I’ve been a victim. I’ve chosen to speak  

Up for myself and others. It’s unhealthy not to. 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 4, 2016 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
