RSS

What’s On My Mind ?

26 Jul
Foedish Stamps Saving Program

1960's Foedish Trading Stamps

I’ve got a few things on my mind today. The first is, Amy Winehouse’s death. When Michael Jackson died, I was in disbelief, like a lot of fans of his. I felt sad and thought, it will be so hard to replace all the talent he had. Yes, I think he definitely died too young! With Amy Winehouse’s passing, I felt so sad. She had great talent, but a lot of problems with drugs and alcohol. That sounds so familiar with so many greats having the same kind of problems. She did rise above those issues to have monumental success, such as winning 5 Grammys! So many musicians never achieve that success. Amy Winehouse will always be remembered for her accomplishments, her wonderful voice and phrasing of music, and she died at 27 joining the club with so many musical greats before her. I miss you Amy Winehouse! Yes, your music needs to be on my ipod.

Does anyone remember S & H Green Stamps or Foedish’s Sharing Stamps? I have some that belonged to my family from the 1960’s. I remember that last time we used our S & H Green Stamps to by a lawn chair. I fondly remember the Foedish Store is the Whitesboro Shopping Center too! We would save our stamps religiously and then love to trade them for some handy appliances or whatever we needed that was small but necessary around our house. In the 1960’s, we saved and bought carefully. My family in Utica, New York, was a hard working one and had lived through The Great Depression. As it is now, these days are not a lot better than that. A few things really bother me about our current economic system that we live under. Not enough jobs are available to be had by everyone who wants one and our health insurance system is way out of touch with the general needs of most Americans. I’m currently at a local health clinic and they treat me excellent. My past health insurance companies would send me letters laughing in my face, that I needed to have medical tests done, because I was of a certain age. I kept paying for health insurance, because I thought I was supposed to do that! I just couldn’t afford to use it! I’m not unusual. Just like so many struggling Americans of a certain age.

Well, this is how I’m feeling today. At least my high blood pressure, high cholesterol, low vitamin D, and low lipids are improving. I’m waiting on the mammogram and colonoscopy.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 26, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
